En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies destinés à des fins de mesure d'audience, à améliorer la performance de ce site et à vous proposer des services et contenus personnalisés. En savoir plus


School Leadership

The Board of Directors
Led by the President, the Board of Directors is composed of the Director-General, representatives of the State, faculty members, students, alumni, leading figures from higher education and research establishments, and top executives from public and private organizations.
> List of members

The President - Eric Labaye

Eric Labaye is President of École Polytechnique and in charge of the Institut Polytechnique de Paris, an alliance between École Polytechnique, ENSTA ParisTech, ENSAE ParisTech, Télécom ParisTech and Télécom SudParis. He is a member of the board of Telecom Paris Tech, the International Advisory Board of ESSEC, and the Board of Advisors of the School of Public Affairs at Sciences Po.

In his previous role, Eric Labaye was Senior Partner (Director) at McKinsey & Company and Chairman of McKinsey Global Institute (MGI), McKinsey’s business & economic research arm. Prior to this, he was Managing Director of the France office and led the firm’s global knowledge and communications function, as a member of the Global Operating Committee. He was also a member of the Shareholders Council of the firm for ten years, of which he chaired the Client Committee. At McKinsey, Eric Labaye had the opportunity to work extensively for clients globally in the Telecom, High-tech and industrial sectors, as well as for governments and public institutions on a variety of strategic and operational issues. He conducted many research projects with MGI and in France on key economic topics, including growth in Europe, productivity, digitalization, future of work and inequality. Eric Labaye also initiated and co-led McKinsey’s “Women Matter” research program, which, since 2007, aims to promote gender diversity in large companies’ senior management. He was a member of the “Commission pour la Libération de la Croissance Française” (Release Growth in France), from 2007 to 2010, and a member of the “Commission Economique de la Nation” (French National Economic Commission) from 2005 to 2014.

Eric Labaye is a graduate from École Polytechnique and Telecom ParisTech and holds an MBA with distinction (Henry Ford II award) from INSEAD.

The Director-General –  François Bouchet
Under the authority of the President of the Board of Directors, the Director-General oversees the administration and military leadership of the school. The President of the Board of Directors is responsible for accomplishing the school's strategic missions.

François Bouchet has been Director-General of École Polytechnique since January 2017. Under the authority of the Chairman of the Board of Directors, he is responsible for the general management of the establishment and the military command of the School. François Bouchet has been a member of the Executive Committee of the Institut Polytechnique de Paris, which brings together École Polytechnique, ENSTA Paris, ENSAE Paris, Télécom Paris and Télécom SudParis since May 31, 2019, for which he is responsible for campus issues. François Bouchet is also President of the Student Life Commission of the Conférence des Grandes Écoles.

Previously, François Bouchet was Director of the Land Management Unit within the French General Direction for Armament (DGA). In charge of ground operations, he was notably responsible for the launch of the SCORPION program and the dedicated operation for Special Forces vehicles.

Since joining the DGA in 1991, François Bouchet has held various positions of responsibility in the conduct of armament operations, particularly in the fields of tactical missiles and radio communications. He has also participated in the preparation of future operational capabilities as operational capability manager within the Strategy Department. From 2002 to 2005 he was Technical Director of the Toulouse aeronautical test center before managing the merging of two “Grandes Écoles”, SUPAÉRO and ENSICA, which gave birth to the Institut Supérieur de l'Aéronautique et de l'Espace (ISAE) a world leader in aerospace engineering higher education. He was appointed Deputy Director of ISAE-Supaéro in 2007.

François Bouchet is also a former auditor at the Center for Advanced Armament Studies and the Interministerial State Management School (CIME). He was promoted to the rank and title of "Ingénieur Général Hors Classe de l'Armement" on January 1, 2017. 

François Bouchet is a graduate of the École Polytechnique (X86) and SUPAERO (91). He is an Officer of the National Order of Merit and Officer of the Legion of Honor.

Acting Provost - Benoît Deveaud
This position is appointed by decree of the Minister of Defense, through nomination by the President of the Board of Directors, upon recommendation of the Board.

Benoît Deveaud

Benoît Deveaud (X1971) holds a Doctorate degree in phusics from Grenoble University. He is a specialist in optical spectroscopy of semiconductors. His research has focused particularly on the physics of ultrafast optical processes in semiconductor nanostructures.

Appointed professor in Physics at EPFL in October 1993, he has been the Director the Institute of Micro and Optoelectronics from 1998, then of the Institute of Quantum Photonic and Electronics from 2003 to 2008 and head of Physics from 2014 till his departure from EPFL in 2017. From 2008 till 2014 he has been Dean for Research at EPFL and president of the research commission. Denoît Deveaud has been a divisional editor of the Physical Review Letters from 2001 to 2007. In 2019, he was awarded the Charpak-Ritz Prize, presented jointly by the French Physics Society and the Swiss Physics Society.

Benoît Deveaud has been Vice-Provost of École Polytechnique since April 2017, responsible for its entire Research Center, in coordination with its various partners. He also heads the Scientific Board of Institut Polytechnique de Paris, a five-partner cluster institution comprising École Polytechnique, ENSAE, ENSTA, Télécom Paris and Télécom Sud-Paris. Benoit Deveaud is also Acting Chairman of the Academic and Research Committee of Institut Polytechnique de Paris.