En poursuivant votre navigation, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies destinés à des fins de mesure d'audience, à améliorer la performance de ce site et à vous proposer des services et contenus personnalisés. En savoir plus


NewUni members sign a cooperation agreement

On Thursday, October 4, 2018, the deans of the five "Écoles" and the presidents of IMT and GENES are today signing the cooperation agreement approved by their boards, enabling the development of this new institution, temporarily named NewUni. This agreement demonstrates their commitment to creating a world-class science and technology institution.

Another step forward has been taken in the establishment of NewUni. On October 25th, 2017, Emmanuel Macron, the President of the French Republic, approved the creation of a higher education and research institution made up of an alliance of five French “Écoles”: École Polytechnique, ENSTA ParisTech, ENSAE ParisTech (GENES), Télécom ParisTech and Télécom SudParis, the two schools members of the Institut Mines-Télécom (IMT) group. One year later, on October 4th, the implementation of this group of five institutions of excellence, temporarily named NewUni, has just been passed with the signature of the cooperation agreement. Through this agreement, these institutions are committed to creating a world-class science and technology institution together.

As well as the high-quality training provided in engineering programs, the institutions will offer new internationally-attractive courses which will result in NewUni undergraduate degrees, Master’s degrees, PhDs, and lifelong education. The certification request for Masters and PhDs is currently being prepared.

This clustering enables these institutions to combine their strengths, to enhance their already existing cooperation actions and to gain visibility, especially abroad by positioning NewUni in accordance with international standards. All the institutions share a story, common values, and high-level French engineering academic programs. For many years, they have been cooperating in the fields of education, research, or even internationally and in terms of infrastructure. Gathered on the same campus, these institutions have a tremendous potential to leverage their strengths and to build on joint achievements. 

The official brand of this new group will be disclosed in early 2019. To ensure the advancement of cooperation work, a steering management board has been set up, composed of executive leaders of the "Écoles" and chaired by Eric Labaye, President of École Polytechnique. The ten or so working groups already started will be expanded to include staff and students from all "Écoles".